While I have lots of projects planned once I get settle into the new house (and unearth my sewing machine).  I’ve been shopping for fabric – I want to make a dress out of this fabric, but cannot decide what era to do it in.  I’m leaning towards 18th Century (1780’s-ish) because I don’t have one of those yet.  This is my clan’s tartan, (the weathered ancient version) 8 oz wool 54″ wide.

Featured image

I like the dress featured here: http://twonerdyhistorygirls.blogspot.com/2014/09/a-rare-wedding-dress-for-highland-bride.html

This is one of those buy the fabric way in advance because its expensive kind of purchases so while I know I could make a regency with 6 or 7 yards easily, I’m contemplating getting 10 because well, reasons.  Like, I would like to not short myself and I’d like to match the plaid when I can and well, left over fabric is a free project… right?

